Transfer projects between comp

Knowledgebase // Photojunction // Transfer projects between computers

Transfer projects between computers

We are often asked if it's possible to move a Photojunction project to another computer - maybe so a designer can work on it, or so you can take it on your laptop to visit a client. The answer is yes you can, although do bear in mind you'll be moving the whole client (PJX) folder and not just a particular album design. There are two ways to move a project.


Move project methods

IMPORTANT: Method 1 moves the original Project folder to the new location (it doesn't make a copy). There is also a small risk that you may lose the Project file if Photojunction crashes or your computer shuts down during the transfer process. Method 2 removes that risk and also allows you to move a COPY.

Method 1: The "Move Project To" function

1. Go to the Welcome window in Photojunction and select the Browse tab.

2. Select the client you want to transfer in the Client column, right-click, and choose 'Move Project To...' (you can also get to this from the File menu). Navigate to the location where you want Photojunction to place the .pjx folder.

3. Finally, on the destination computer, go to the PJ File menu and choose 'Import Project', then select the .pjx folder to import.

Note: if you follow this method, and want to work on your design back on your original computer, you will need to transfer the PJX file back again.

Method 2: Move the folder manually.

1. Go to the Welcome window in Photojunction and select the Browse tab.

2. Select the client you want to transfer in the Client column, right-click, and choose "Select Open File Location" (on PC) or "Show in Finder" (on Mac). This opens the location where your .PJX files are stored, so you can copy them over to the destination.

3. On the destination computer, go to the File menu and choose 'Import Project', then select the .pjx folder to import.

Note: if you use this method to transfer a COPY of the PJX, take care to keep track of which version is the master!

Check out the video below.


Can't find the PJX?

The Application Data folder is hidden by default on Windows PCs. You can show hidden files as follows:

1. In My Computer, go to the Tools menu and choose Folder and Search Options.

2. Click on the View tab.

3. Check "Show hidden files and folders", then click OK.

By default, Photojunction saves client work in the following locations:

- On Mac OSX, PJ saves to Mac HD:Users:Shared:Photojunction: (where Mac HD is your main hard drive).

- On Windows XP, PJ saves to C:\Documents & Settings\All Users\Application Data\Photojunction\

- On Windows Vista and Windows 7, PJ saves to C:\ProgramData\Photojunction\